Accommodation, Businesses and more pictures from Lunner
Lunner muncipality has approximately 8.700 inhabitants and covers a area of 291,9 km2. Lunner is the southermost township of Hadeland. Farming and forestry have always been important for settling and employment in Lunner. The administrative centre of the municipality is the village of Roa. The highest point is the Bislingflaka with a height of 691 metres. Lakes in the region include Avalsjøen. Lunner is bordered to the north by the municipality of Gran, to the east by Nannestad, to the south by Nittedal and Oslo, and to the west by Jevnaker. There are several village in the municipality. Harestua, Grua, Roa and Lunner.
Lunner church is a medieval stone church from the 12th century, located on the hill of Lunnertoppen. Lunner church was originally only a stone church with a circular stone tower at the west side. On the image the original stone church can be seen on the right hand side. Sometime between 1780 – 1790, the tower was dismantled and the church rebuilt into a cruciform church. This can be observed to the left in the picture. The newer parts in wood underwent restoration work in 1987 – 1988. An archaeological excavation was carried out and the circular base of the old tower was recorded and left open for public display.
Lunner church is the only known circular church tower in Norway. Over the circular base of the tower a new floor of glass was made so visitors of the church now can see this remarkable construction. The medieval parts of the church have still not gone through restoration. At the outside the medieval part of the church has nine stone reliefs. These ornaments depict humans and animals, probably battling for human souls. The ornaments are located on the southern and eastbound walls, and on the sacristy.
The Pilgrim’s Way between Oslo and Nidaros was completed in 1997. The Pilgrim’s Way runs through Hadeland, passing through Moe farm in Jevnaker, then onto Jevnaker Parish church, the Sister Churches in Granavollen, St Petri Church, through Brandbu, following Kjølvegen, befor finally crossing the municipal boundary near Høgkorsplassen. Lunner Church is not on the Pilgrim’s Way, but is well worth a visit. Built in the 12th century, there are still remnants of the original round tower.
Legend has it that Olav the Peaceful built the first church in Jevnaker on the site where the current church stands. The unique "Sister Churches" in Granavollen consist of Nikolai Church and the smaller Maria Church on one site. Nikolai Church has a pulpit from 1728 and an altarpiece dating back to 1625. The Pilgrim’s Loft on Tuv farm is an old renovated timber-log building from the 1800s.
HARESTUA SOLAR OBSERVATORY
Harestua Solar Observatory (Solobservatoriet på Harestua) is a solar observatory near Harestua. It was used for solar research purposes from 1954 to 1986, and was subordinated the University of Oslo. From 1987 it was used for public courses, eventually run by astronomer Knut Jørgen Røed Ødegaard.
The Hadeland district comprises the villages Gran, Jevnaker and Lunner and has a total population of 27.000. It is an exciting region with a rich cultural landscape and a welth off attractions and activities for visitors of all ages. Hadeland Glassworks (Medieval Scandinavia) and the Viking Champ Raukr forms two extremes at either end of the region, spanning a whole spectre off sights and activities between them. There is Fjorda – a veritable eldorado for canoe enthusiasts, Granavollen with its famous "Sister Churches" and Stone House, and the unforgettable mine safari in the Nyseter mines in Grua, as well as a wide range of art galleries, museums, etc.
Why not visit a genuine farm and taste good traditional farm fare? There is so much to see and do in Hadeland, if you are willing to take the time to find out about and visit our unique attractions. Whether you are looking for a place to sleep, or want to go out for a first-class meal, we can help you find the perfect place.
HADELAND OPEN AIR MUSEUM
Hadeland Open Air museum includes the mound Halvdanshaugen, where legend har it that the heart of King Halvdan the Black is buried. Høgkorsplassen is the highest point on Kjølvegen, the route along which King Sverre and his men hauled their Viking ships from Randsfjord to Lake Mjøsa on timber logs in the late 12th century. The Stone House is believed to date back to the end of the 13th century. The orginal purpose, of this building is a mystery to us today. Lunner Church still has remains of the original round church tower form the 1100s.
One of the first metals that was discovered was silver. It`s high reflection of light gives the silver an unique white white color and the silversmiths inspiration to creeatte the most beutiful things. With bacground in Norwegian silverart, Bjørn I. Hømann is today carrying on this tradition.
MINES at GRUA
The iron mines in Grua date back to 1538, and later lead ore and Zinc were also extracted. The Nyseter mines are open to the public for guided "mine safaris". Hadeland Mine Museum has a collection of local crystals and minerals.